View Full Version : WARNING: on a member of this forum
the member 'penwerks, greg darling' has fraudulently presented work on another website that is not his.
please check the following: http://www.thepenshop.net/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=341&PN=1 and
http://www.thepenshop.net/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=408&PN=1
He stole pictures of segmented work off of Mark Kauder's website, posted them as work of his own. Once he was confronted, he attempted to challenge this, however eventually admitted to his fraud in a pathetic 'apology'. The guy is a real loser.
He has been banned from the pen shop site and from World of Woodturners.
Fraud and plagiarism is something that hurts all of us. Apparently this man has no morals and i hope this warning will help prevent a similar event from happening here.
thanks
e
JTTHECLOCKMAN
01-05-2006, 11:11 PM
Well -e- first let me say welcome and hope you did not join just to tell us this. We welcome your comments and thank you for the heads up but the sad thing is he or she probably did not think anything was wrong with fraudulently representing themselves and stealing others work. The person is a member here but has not partcipated much. We will watch out for this but that person can log on as any other name also so it does get tough to follow. Just hope for a keen eye as yours to spot the infraction. Heck they just caught some guy taking patterns off the free pattern sites and selling them on ebay which is a copyright violation. Hope to see -e- around the sites more that you signed on.
i will be hanging around ... very nice site.
cranbrook2
01-06-2006, 10:10 AM
that is beautiful work who ever did it? :D
pops-shop
01-06-2006, 10:33 AM
Heck they just caught some guy taking patterns off the free pattern sites and selling them on ebay
Say WHAT????????????????????
wisconsinwoodch
01-06-2006, 06:41 PM
PoPs that is as bad as the guy I seen selling toy car trucks and other toys that can be bought at wally world for .99 cents, his starting bid is 9.95 , a nice profit.and a un limmited inventory. the wisconsin wood chuck.
that is beautiful work who ever did it? :D
the REAL artist is Mark Kauder http://www.markkauder.com/
Mark is a very special guy -- not only an outstanding and accomplished artist, but also someone who continuously shares his techniques and experience with all who ask.
JTTHECLOCKMAN
01-06-2006, 11:08 PM
It really does take a person with no scrupples to do things like that. Yes Fred some idiot took the free scroll saw patterns that people post on those site and sold them not only on ebay but his own web site. People were spotting their portraits with their names still on them. So this guy is banned from those sites but like I said he can log in under another name. I do not know if there is a way to identify a person by the computer address not into that stuff. But it is good to pay attention as you visit other sites and do not be afraid to alert some one. You would not want it to happen to you.
pops-shop
01-07-2006, 06:52 PM
John, as a matter of fact there is a way of tracking a person. It's called an IP address. That is how the feds track and catch the "evil doers". :cool:
Servcman
01-07-2006, 10:26 PM
The IP address doesn't always work. Through my cable company and most other internet providers they use a random IP address to keep their subscibers a little more safer from hackers. Every time you log on they give you a diferent IP to keep hackers from being able to type in the IP when ever and seeing if your pc is online.
Dennis
my local router also does this ... i have a dynamite ip address from the internet service provider (isp) generated everytime i log in.
however, i also have a router that allows more than one computer to share the same one isp connection.
the router generates a new ip address everytime the computer logs on.
therefore, it comes down to a manual recognition of the 'evil doer' -- and then there's always 'uncle quido'.
vBulletin® v3.7.2, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.